Advent 2015 (2 of 6) by David Flowers

Sermon Series:  Freedom Bound -- Advent to Epiphany 2015
Sermon Title:  The Path of Mercy (2 of 6)
Scripture Reading:  Malachi 3:1-2; Luke 1:76-79; Mark 10:46-52

The Advent season is a time of reflection on how God's coming in Jesus releases us from personal, social, and historical chains that bind us. The theme for this Advent-Epiphany season is "Freedom Bound." We live in the paradox that we are both bound and free, on a march to freedom but encumbered by the burden of sin we carry; we are carrying the scars of struggle but living with a new hope. God's freedom takes us down pathways of justice, mercy, trust, love, service, and inclusion.

In The Path of Mercy, pastor David shares how the light of Christ’s coming is God’s mercy to us, in order that we might be freed from our darkness. Listen to David and view the slides here.

Lent to Easter 2015 (1 of 7) by David Flowers

Sermon Series: Lent to Easter 2015
Sermon Title: The God Who Initiates Deep Change
Scripture Reading: Genesis 9:8-17; 1 Peter 3:18-22; Isaiah 55:10-13

What is God doing? What does he want to do? Whatever God is doing, it isn't "same old, same old." God wants to do a new thing! 

Our Lent to Easter 2015 series focuses our attention on our need to see how and where God is at work in our personal walk with him, and in the life of our church. Are we listening? Do we recognize the Holy Spirit at work?

Our series begins with a look at the original portrait of God from Genesis 1-11. How do we understand this literary unit in light of its genre and of the God revealed in Jesus? Pastor David calls us to rethink what we thought we knew, and see that God's ways are upside down and inside out. He is much better than we have ever imagined.

Listen to David and view the slides here.